Asian Food Break – Puto

I’m sure this would be better if my friend JG and I had made this from scratch, but we didn’t. We cheated by buying a box of puto mix from the Asian grocery store in Lansing last fall. It has to be my favorite Asian market next to the one I discovered in Alabama where I discovered Kimchi noodle bowls, so good even though I usually don’t enjoy spicy food.

These turned out nice and fluffy and were pretty good. A little too sweet, but still really good! I think when we make the second package, we’ll cut down on the sugar.

Totally enjoying this and it is a lot easier to make than baozi. At first the taste seemed odd, but the more I ate the more the weird initial taste disappeared and it was yummy cake from then on.

Leave a Reply

