Chicken Penne with Lumpia

pastaYou would think this meant that you were making a dinner. A dish of chicken penne to be accompanied by lumpia (Filipino spring roll) which wouldn’t seem to fit quite together. However, what I did was mix chicken penne with leftover lumpia filling. This makes for a hearty, meaty dish, but it was SOOO good. Soy sauce and tomato sauce? Italian seasonings with Spanish adobo? It combined and made a unique and tasty dish. My only regret was there was no one to share the tasty dish as I was house sitting by myself. I suppose I could have shared with the puppies…

Traditionally, lumpia is made with pork (or pork/hamburg mix), but I learned how to make it from a Filipino who used just hamburger. Oh, I make it with pork as well, but 9 times out of 10 I will be using ground chuck (its better than hamburger). And sometimes I use Mama Sita’s Lumpiang Shanghai Fried Spring Roll Seasoning Mix and sometimes I season the meat myself. It just so happens that I seasoned it myself that time as I didn’t have the seasoning mix.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box penne pasta, cooked
  • 1 jar pasta sauce (I used my brother-in-law’s homemade sauce)
  • 1 lb hamburger
  • 1 boneless chicken breast (I used 3 smaller tenders vs. full breasts)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 green pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 1/3 c soy sauce
  • adobo seasoning, poultry seasoning. salt, pepper to taste
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Kraft Italian shredded cheese blend

Cooking:pasta

  1. Stir fry onion, green pepper, garlic, and carrot together until partially cooked. Add in the hamburger and continue to fry. Add in the adobo seasoning mix, salt, and pepper to suit your taste.
  2. Lastly, add in the egg and soy sauce. (generally, it would only be the egg yolk as you use the egg whites to seal the spring roll/wonton/egg roll wrappers (I use whatever wrappers I can get my hands on which usually means egg roll or wonton as its hard to get the spring rolls). You want to make sure the egg is mixed in well and doesn’t start scrambling. If you want to, you can skip adding the egg as it really is used to hold the mixture together to make it easier to put in and roll.
  3. Set the hamburger mixture aside.
  4. Next it’s time to fry up the chicken. I left the breast whole and kept adding seasoning as I went along (for the chicken I used adobo and poultry seasoning). I actually friend the chicken on low, turning it often. After the chicken was partially (about half way) cooked, I took it out of the pain and chopped it into long strips which I re-added to the pan to finish frying. This ensured the chicken was juicy and tender (I also kept fiddling with the seasoning until I got it just how I wanted).
  5. Once the chicken is cooked, add it to a pan with your cooked penne noodles and pasta sauce. Add in your adobo filling and voila! You have a dish infused with Italian and Asian flavors. Oh, and don’t forget to add the cheese in before serving!

Since I wasn’t following a recipe, I can’t say that if you follow this 100% you’ll get the expected results. Really, it’s just playing around with the seasonings until you get a taste that you’re satisfied with. Man. This is making me hungry for that now. Please note that I don’t tell you to add vegetable oil for cooking the chicken or vegetables because I assume you know that you should do that. šŸ˜›

6 thoughts on “Chicken Penne with Lumpia

  1. Thanks for the pingback! At first I was kinda freaked out by your blog title, but actually the only ingredient in your recipe that is unusual for penne really is the soy sauce, which would just give some salty-ness and smoke to the pasta. I’m not sure what’s in Lumpia or Adobo Seasoning exactly, but it’s probably tasty enough for pasta!

    • I had left over chicken which had been seasoned with adobo seasoning which can be hard to find (it has garlic, salt, pepper, other spices in it) from a salad I was making and I had leftover lumpia filling from lumpia wontons (since I can’t usually get spring roll wrappers on short notice and I failed epically when trying to make my own) and decided, what the heck, I’ll throw it in a penne pasta. Thankfully it didn’t turn out tasting too bad.

    • I LOVE adobo! I especially love my stepmother’s pork adobo. She uses pork shoulder for hers. I wanted to know how to make it, and like you, I got frustrated by the lack of instruction. She just dumped so much soy sauce and vinegar in the pot and I was like how can I do that, I NEED to know the MEASUREMENTS. So needless to say I’ve had my fair share of adobo failures before figuring out how to get things to a certain taste I like.

Leave a Reply

