Sukiyaki

sukiyakiOr basically the Japanese version of braised beef sirloin.

I should know by now that when it comes to Asian recipes never to follow the directions 100%. But no, since this was the first time I made sukiyaki, I followed the recipe to a “T” and it ended up being way too salty. Good, but way too salty.

The Recipe:

  • 1 cup low sodium soy sauce (I used regular, maybe that’s where I went wrong)
  • 1/2 cup mirin
  • 1/2 cup sake
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 medium yellow onion, sliced thin
  • shitake mushrooms (I omitted this since my cousin isn’t a mushroom fan)
  • 1/2 head of napa cabbage (this stuff is sooooo yummy to eat raw)
  • 1 pkg cellophane noodles (I used 1/3 a package of maifun rice stick, softened in hot water for 10 minutes and then finely chopped)
  • 1 lb beef sirloin steak sliced as thin as you can get it
  • 2 spring onions for garnish

Mirin is a sweet rice wine and Sake is a type of Japanese alcohol (which tastes like watered down beer to me). I’ve only had sake once before and that was a much sweeter version than the one I bought for this.

  1. You mix the soy sauce, mirin, sake, sugar, and water in a bowl and set aside.
  2. Next you heat corn or peanut oil (since I have neither in my house I just used vegetable oil) in a wok. Add your onion. Cook until tender. Then add in your shredded cabbage and chopped shitake mushrooms. You cook this until the cabbage just starts to wilt.
  3. Next add the sauce you made in step 1. On medium heat, bring to a slow simmer and then add your sirloin and noodles. Simmer for about 3 minutes until meet is cooked. It doesn’t take long if you have sliced the meat thinly enough.
  4. Garnish with your chopped spring onions.

sukiyakiI was surprised by the sweetness. I tried the sauce and went blech before I put it in the pan, but it really improved as the alcohol cooked off (this is also my first experience cooking with alcohol). However, the saltiness. It sent chills down my spine. Next time I am definitely cutting down on the amount of soy sauce and adding a bit more water. I also might have reduced it too much (even though there was a lot of liquid left over). I was also surprised by how the onions and noodles really took on the color of the soy sauce as much as they did.

Like the Filipino pork adobo, it will take awhile to find just the right amount to get the right taste.

Leave a Reply

