Blast from the past: Fashion Design

Oddly enough, I’m not a very fashionable person. Growing up was filled with hand-me-downs and whatever was economical. Nothing wrong with that at all. It’s life, you know? But for whatever reason, I started “designing” clothes. I use this term loosely. I can do basic sewing and mending with some basic embroidery thrown in for good measure. I know nothing about patterns and sewing and any techniques. So…I draw clothes. I’ve got notebooks full of designs, none that have seen the light of day.

I did think of studying fashion design, but opted for English instead with a focus on writing. I did end up taking a textile design class where I did design a shirt, bag, and an art…quilt…I guess. I modified bought patterns for the bag and I think I made the shirt pattern myself. Everything was hand-dyed and hand sewn. It took forever, but I was proud of the results.

I was digging through my old stuff and came across my design sketchbook that my best friend from high school gave me. The nostalgia. Below are some of my favorite designs.

These are mostly later designs. I have pages and pages of miniscule designs. As you can see, my drawing skills are not very good. Thus, you can imagine how a contact sheet full of these outfits would be.

3 thoughts on “Blast from the past: Fashion Design

Leave a Reply

