Bulgur Sausage Gravy Breakfast Bowl

Bulgur Pilaf

Jazzed up bulgur pilaf.

I sadly did not take a picture of this before I ate it. Not that I suppose it matters because my food photography definitely leaves a lot to be desired (just look at the horrible low-quality of my bulgur pilaf image). This was my first time working with bulgur. It’s a nifty grain and in the pilaf was very chewy, but in this bowl it’s barely noticeable, probably because the extra liquid helped detract from the earlier chewiness. I made the bulgur pilaf two days before as an accompaniment to a spiced chicken dinner with baked beans. It was very yummy (a little dry because I let it sit a little too long with the lid on after it was finished cooking). That makes this a very quick to make breakfast. My main problem was getting my hashbrowns cooked. I didn’t have enough butter/oil at first so it took a lot longer than it should have.

Bulgur Pilaf

This pilaf recipe is modified from the standard pilaf recipe available on the Hodgson Mills bulgur box.

  • 1 cup uncooked bulgur
  • 2 leeks, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic (I used a mounded tsp)
  • 1/4 cup dried cherries & berries mix
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Melt 2 tbsp of butter in a nonstick pan.
  2. Add leeks, garlic, and bulgur. Stir, cooking until bulgur golden brown.
  3. Slowly add your broth. Stir occasionally while bringing to a boil. Add your dried fruit mix and salt and pepper to taste. Reduce heat and cover. Cook 15-20 minutes until liquid is absorbed.

For the gravy mixture…I didn’t actually come out and measure anything, lol. That’s not very helpful is it? I just took my flour scoop and sprinkled it on. I know it’s under a quarter cup and how much you add really depends on thickness preferences and the amount of milk you’re adding.

Sausage Gravy

  • 16oz roll of Jimmy Dean regular pork sausage (or any pork sausage – you don’t want to use a drier sausage)
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1-2 cups milk (I’m lactose intolerant so I used lactose-free Vitamin D)
  • 1/2 – 1 cup bulgur pilaf
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Brown sausage in a large cast iron skillet.
  2. Add pilaf and stir until combined. Sprinkle flour over sausage and pilaf mixture and stir for about a minute.
  3. Gradually add milk, stirring constantly. What I did was take my milk carton, and add milk until sausage was completely covered and liquid was about a quarter inch from the top of the pan. When the milk thickened, I added a bit more so the top of the sausage mixture was covered again. It thickened very well, so you can do this until you achieve the desired consistency of sausage gravy. I wanted mine to be slightly thicker than when I make sausage gravy for biscuits.
  4. During the gravy-making process, make sure to taste test as you go. Sometimes you have to add extra salt or pepper as the milk will degrade the seasoning of the sausage a little bit. If this happens, add seasoning to your taste.

To bring this recipe together I added browned, shredded hashbrowns and a fried egg. The gravy mixture is about enough for 4 servings give or take. So you’ll want to brown about 2-3 cups of frozen shredded hashbrowns and divide this between four bowls. Top hashbrowns with gravy mixture and a fried egg. Voila. It’s surprisingly simply, very hearty, and it had just the right amount of seasoning.

This would actually work well as a make ahead breakfast bowl where you’d have a quick heat & eat hearty breakfast for about a week. I think next time, I’d love to try this with home fries versus hashbrowns.

One thought on “Bulgur Sausage Gravy Breakfast Bowl

Leave a Reply

