Basket Weave Messy Bun Hat

Being a girl, it has always been annoying trying to wear a hat if you wore your hair up. I don’t know why this didn’t go viral earlier, but the end of 2016/beginning of 2017 saw an explosion of the Messy Bun Hat. A hat that was crocheted or knitted with a hole on top to wear a bun or ponytail.

img_20170108_185029405I’ve been crocheting on and off for the past 2-3 years. I’ve never attempted to write a pattern before. I’ve always been interested in design, but to actually create a design and base a pattern on it seemed way too difficult. That hasn’t stopped me from crocheting certain things without a set pattern (shrugs, snowmen, stand mixer covers). In honor of a friend’s upcoming special anniversary, I decided to try my hand at writing my own pattern for a messy bun hat (since she has rather long hair). I also decided I wanted the hat to match the pattern of the shrug I made her for Christmas 2016.

So, what do I do. I crochet a hat, make mistakes, and write a pattern as I go. I then spent this morning working out changes to the pattern to make it better and then I took the finalized pattern and made a second hat from it as a test. I am open to any constructive criticism for anyone who should try the pattern out and I’m open to clarifying any of the steps. So, without further ado, here goes!

Basket Weave Messy Bun Hat

Materials

  • 1 skein Red Heart Soft in Rose Blush
  • 1 skein Red Heart Soft in Deep Sea
  • G hook (4 mm)
  • 1 elastic band (1.5 to 2 inches in diameter)

If substituting a different yarn, you would want to use worsted weight with a 4 thickness. I don’t do gauge swatches, so I can’t really comment on what the gauge should be.

Abbreviations

  • SC = single crochet
  • DC = double crochet
  • CH = chain
  • FPDC = front post double crochet
  • BPDC = back post double crochet

Pattern Notes

The basket weave stitch requires stitch counts to be in multiples of six as the pattern is worked with three front post double crochet followed by three back post double crochet. If you plan to increase or decrease the pattern to resize, you need to make certain you always keep the stitch counts in your rounds in multiples of 6.

I didn’t count the chain 1 in the total round stitch counts when doing single crochet. When you are doing the increase rounds, you should always end the round with two single crochet in the final stitch.

Round 1: With Deep Sea, single crochet 30 times around elastic band, joining with a slip stitch in first SC. CH 1.

Round 2: *SC in first 4 stitches, 2 SC in next stitch.* Repeat from * 5 times. Join with slip stitch to CH 1. CH 1. (36)

Round 3: *SC in first 5 stitches, 2 SC in next stitch.* Repeat from * 5 times. Join with slip stitch to CH 1. CH 1. (42)

Round 4: *SC in first 6 stitches, 2 SC in next stitch.* Repeat from * 5 times. Join with slip stitch to CH 1. CH 1. (48)

Round 5: *SC in first 3 stitches, 2 SC in next stitch.* Repeat from * 11 times. Join with slip stitch to CH 1. (60)

Round 6: CH 2 (counts as first DC), 2 DC in next stitch. *1 DC in next stitch, 2 DC in next stitch.* Repeat from * 28 times. (90)

img_20170108_095602035This increase will give you a bit of a wave in the round, this is intentional to get the top creases in the hat when the basket weave stitch starts. If you don’t want the ruffles at the top, let me know and I can add on instructions for an altered round 6 and 7.

Rounds 7-9: CH 2. Skip first stitch from previous round. FPDC around 2nd stitch from previous round. FPDC around each of next two stitches from previous round. BPDC around each of next 3 stitches from previous round. *FPDC around each of next 3 stitches from previous round. BPDC around each of next 3 stitches from previous round.* Repeat from * 13 times. Join with slip stitch to top of CH 2.

Rounds 10-11: CH 2. Skip first stitch of previous row. *BPDC around each of the next 3 stitches. FPDC around each of the following 3 stitches.* Repeat from * 14 times. Join with slip stitch to top of CH 2.

Round 12: Repeat round 10, changing to Rose Blush in slip stitch join at the end of the round.

Rounds 13-14: Repeat Round 8.

Round 15: Repeat Round 8, changing back to Deep Sea in slip stitch join at end of round.

Rounds 16-18: Repeat Round 10.

Rounds 19-21: Repeat Round 8.

Rounds 21-22: Repeat Round 10.

Round 23: Repeat Round 10, changing to Rose Blush in slit stitch join at end of round.

Round 24-26: Repeat Round 8. Finish off and weave in ends.

img_20170108_185134062

I hope this pattern makes sense! Instead of doing the basket weave stitch in the normal 4 rows/rounds, I added an extra row/round. I like how this turned out. On my big head, this hat does cover my ears, which was the goal. I hate cold ears.

Leave a Reply

